Cultivate the heritage of our fathers

« Bernard Moueix is the Great grandson of Antoine Moueix, the founder of our family. Pomerol has been notably marked by the presence of the Moueix family, its history that is closely tied to that of the Bordeaux right bank for over a century.

 

It all began in 1905, when Antoine Moueix left his native Corrèze (Center of France) to undertake his military service in Libourne. He then discovered the enormous potential of the region, tried his luck and established himself as a wine merchant. His business flourished very rapidly.

 

Having been a farmer like his father, he fully recognized good land and an exceptional terroir. Add to that a « savvy nose » of a wine merchant and you obtain an enlightened and judicious choice. For his very first acquisition in 1923, he chose Chateau Taillefer, in Pomerol. In 1953, he was to buy Chateau Tauzinat l'Hermitage, Saint-Emilion Grand Cru.

 

One century later, our father, Bernard Moueix, passed on to us these two properties, emblematic of the Bordeaux right bank, together with a know-how that has been refined from generation to generation. And it was under our ancestors' benevolent eye that I, together with my brother, Antoine, received this heritage. With humility and passion. »

 

Claire Moueix

Cultiver l'héritage de nos pères

« Bernard Moueix est l'arrière-petit-fils d'Antoine Moueix, le fondateur de notre famille. Et notre histoire est étroitement liée à celle de la rive droite de Bordeaux, depuis plus d'un siècle.

 

Tout commence en 1905, lorsqu'Antoine Moueix quitte la Corrèze pour réaliser son service militaire à Libourne. Il y découvre le potentiel de la région, tente sa chance et s'installe comme négociant en vin. Rapidement, son affaire prospère.

 

Agriculteur de père en fils, il connaît la terre et sait reconnaître un bon terroir. Ajoutez à cela le « nez » du négociant et vous obtenez un choix éclairé et judicieux. Pour sa toute première acquisition en 1923, il choisit le Château Taillefer à Pomerol. En 1953, il devient propriétaire du Château Tauzinat l'Hermitage, Saint-Emilion Grand Cru.

 

Un siècle plus tard, notre père, Bernard Moueix nous transmet ces deux propriétés emblématiques de la rive droite de Bordeaux, ainsi qu'un savoir-faire affiné de génération en génération. Et c'est sous le regard bienveillant de nos aïeux qu’avec mon frère, Antoine, nous recevons cet héritage. Avec humilité et passion. »

 

Claire Moueix