Attuned to the terroir

« In Pomerol, not unlike in Saint-Emilion, we have chosen to preserve the vineyard and the environment with a work of the soil in the traditional way and a fine tune of our decisions to the vintage on a plot by plot basis.

 

The clay soils of Château Tauzinat l'Hermitage is a complex terroir to work: As soon as it rains, we are unable to enter into the parcels since the soil adheres to everything, it is said that « the soil is amorous » And when there is drought, the soil is so hard that the plow is incapable of tilling the earth.

 

For the wine to best reflect its terroir, we undertake in the vineyard and in the cellar to reveal the identity of the wines. Château Taillefer provides an elegant and well-structured wine whereas chateau Tauzinat l'Hermitage produces a seductive wine with beautiful aromatic complexity. »

 

Claire Moueix

À l'écoute du terroir

« À Pomerol comme à Saint-Emilion, nous avons choisi de préserver le vignoble et l'environnement avec un travail du vignoble traditionnel et une gestion raisonnée des interventions. La philosophie est la même mais le travail est différent.

 

Le terroir du Château Tauzinat l'Hermitage est complexe à travailler : dès qu'il pleut, on ne peut plus entrer dans les parcelles tant le sol est glissant; on dit alors que « la terre est amoureuse ». Et dès que le temps devient sec, le sol est si dur que la charrue ne peut plus retourner la terre.

 

Pour que le vin reflète son terroir tout est mis en œuvre à la vigne comme au chai pour révéler l'identité des vins. Alors que le Château Taillefer donne un vin de garde, élégant et structuré, le Château Tauzinat l'Hermitage donne un vin charmeur, doté d'une belle complexité aromatique. »

 

Claire Moueix